Singapore in Transit Part 1

Recently I took off on my first escape from home in a long time. Headed for Australia to visit my mum & brother, I had a 6 hour stop at Singapore Changi Airport. This is an airport I have stopped off at many times in my life & it always impresses, as far as airports go! If you have to wait around for 6 hours anywhere, this is at least somewhere comfortable to do it.

Armed with my DSLR, and a brand new Canon 85mm f1.8 USM lens, I decided in advance that I would use the time to try practise some ‘people’ photography. This is something I still feel very self conscious about doing, taking shots of complete strangers, trying not to catch their attention, and get them in a ‘natural’ capture. It didn’t help that I was pretty tired having travelled from Bristol to London to Singapore with barely any sleep. But these are a few of the shots I caught, there are a few more to come.

It always intrigues me the idea of being in transit. To me it is like being in “no man’s land”, neither here nor there. Somehow people really do seem very transient in transit, which I think helped me to just take photos without feeling too worried about the usual self conscious feelings out on the streets. Most people seem to be in their own little travelling world, and slightly more oblivious to what is going on around them.

It also really helped to make the time pass quickly, helped by a very economical session in one of the airport’s great ‘shower rooms’ which really helps break up that 24+ Hr trip from the UK to Australia, and helps gets the circulation going again!

© Fincher Trist and finchertrist@wordpress.com, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Fincher Trist and finchertrist@wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

~ by fmvt on June 12, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
