Round in Circles

A few years ago, I decided to give up on waiting for the perfect time to do a course in jewellery making or silversmithing. It’s something I’ve been interested in doing for years, and there were always too many excuses for not doing it. With money as one drawback, I decided to just give it a go on my own, buy some books, do some Googling, and talk to some real-life jewellers about their experiences and skills.

I got deeply hooked, bought loads of tools, and materials, and spent much of my spare time bashing and shaping and just trying every technique I could think of, with a few pleasing results but not to the standard I expected of myself.

This was all abruptly put on hold about a year and a half ago, as I embarked on a full time job which consumed an awful lot of my time and energy. As the months went by, I decided I needed a treat, and a new outlet, which is when I purchased my first DSLR camera. One of my justifications for this was that when I get around to making jewellery again, I will be in a better position to photograph the end products, so it all goes hand in hand.

So, I am yet to rediscover the inner-jeweller in me, but I feel it is getting closer. Which is why I took these photos last night, of some old sketches for some silver ideas….it was a little test for my newest lens, my 50mm f1.4, and an attempt to reignite my enthusiasm for creating something more tactile & 3-dimensional.

It does feel like I am going round in circles sometimes, but surely there’s nothing wrong with that, and I hope to maybe turn that into something to my advantage perhaps!

© Fincher Trist and finchertrist@wordpress.com, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Fincher Trist and finchertrist@wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

~ by fmvt on August 8, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
