Tree Textures & a New Lens :-)

I set out on a test mission the other day, with a new lens courtesy of a friend. I have had my eye on this lens for months, so was quite excited to go and try it out. The lens in question is Canon’s 17-40mm L series. For me, this feels like my first ‘grown up’ lens, and was acquired from a friend of mine who has clearly enjoyed, and taken great care of it.

I have been desperate for this natural upgrade to my kit lens, the EF-S 18-55mm. I don’t want to criticize this little lens too much, it’s been a great starter lens, considering its relative low value. I just wanted something not only a little bit wider on my Canon 600D, but obviously with those appealing higher quality ‘L series’ optics.

So I set out on my walk primarily with the intention of testing its wide-factor, which I am more than happy with. Suddenly though I realised I needed to see how close up it will handle, which is where this tree trunk came in handy! I am really surprised how close I was able to get. Yes there is blurring around the edges, but I really like this effect, and was really chuffed to find I had an even more versatile ‘walk around’ lens than I thought. Loving it 🙂

The weather hasn’t been so great since I took possession of it, and am looking forward to taking it somewhere new and more interesting, and in different light conditions. Some wide shots will definately appear here on my blog soon no doubt!

© Fincher Trist and finchertrist@wordpress.com, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Fincher Trist and finchertrist@wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

~ by fmvt on August 24, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
