Experiments in White & Black

Recently I’ve been trying to work on my skills at B&W conversions, mostly with a trial of Silver Efex Pro 2. I think I’m getting the hang of it, and enjoying it, but still nowhere near perfect results. I do love the drama that can be added to skies, in particular, and the selective editing using control points on different areas of the images.

It’s forced me dig through some older images, in search of suitable B&W shots. These are just a few of my first efforts with Silver Efex, taken in SW Victoria, Australia. The location was a slightly eery one to me, an abandoned family home in the countryside, near Cape Bridgewater. I hope to revisit this spot at some point, at different times of the day, as the landscapes can be so striking, in such a minimalist kind of way.

© Fincher Trist and finchertrist@wordpress.com, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Fincher Trist and finchertrist@wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

~ by fmvt on November 9, 2012.

3 Responses to “Experiments in White & Black”

  1. Nice work. It’s interesting how much work we put in trying to make modern digital images look like old chemical prints.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • Yes I agree! It still confuses my ex-35mm brain!! 😀 Recently I bought a toy Holga lens for my DSLR, slightly contradictory?! Thanks for your comments 🙂

  2. superb photographs…really good in b/w

Leave a Reply

 
